Our Little Geekling

Our journey toward finding out what it means to be a parent.

EASY? Eh. January 21, 2011

Filed under: Baby — mrsdangelo @ 20:18

So I got to the sleep (S) chapter in Secrets of the Baby Whisperer and today we started the process of following it more closely, including putting her down to sleep in her own crib and only going in to calm/reassure her when she cries. She’s actually doing okay with it. Last night Jim was up, holding her while she slept, until 4am. Then he put her down in the bassinet and she laid there long enough for him to brush his teeth and get in bed before she awoke and I took over. I calmed her and then held her while she and I slept, nursed her at 7 and then fell back asleep. Then she was up at 9 and was making too much noise so we went to the living room and she slept on me until 11 (she ate again and had several diaper changes in there somewhere; don’t worry!). So to say that we were both quite tired of holding her by that point would be an understatement.

She and I left the house and went to weigh her (more on that below) and then to Wal-Mart to pick up the Itzbeen timer that I had ordered and had delivered to one of our local stores. I had to feed her (from a bottle) while we were at Wal-Mart, then she fell back asleep and we went home. She slept long enough for us to eat lunch, then we went gung ho on the S part of the EASY plan.

Oh my. This is difficult! For the last 4 weeks we’ve been holding her almost nonstop while she’s awake or asleep. I’ve gotten very little snuggle time today, and despite the 7 nonstop hours this morning, it’s KILLING me! I miss my kid! I don’t hope for her to cry, because she needs sleep! But I really love to hold and snuggle and cuddle and kiss her. I’m hoping we can accomplish this routine and then be able to incorporate snuggle time back into our schedule!

I took E to be weighed today and she was a solid 7 lbs, 11 oz! That means she gained about 7 ounces in 9 days! Hooray! She’s gaining weight! She’s still little, but she seems to be thriving. She’s a happy baby, we take care of her, she eats, and she’s okay.

This is a picture I took yesterday of her in a sweet little velour sleeper some friends in Japan sent. Very Asian with the Hello Kitty! And it’s size 0-1 month. It would get mighty expensive, but it’s genius! Our sweet little one.

 

One Response to “EASY? Eh.”

  1. Cyn Says:

    You can keep your snuggle time. I did what the book said when I wanted him to take longer naps and at night. Other than that I did tons of snuggling. Love the outfit.


Leave a Reply

