Our Little Geekling

Our journey toward finding out what it means to be a parent.

NURSERY IS FINISHED! December 11, 2010

Filed under: Baby,Life and Love — mrsdangelo @ 12:39

I FINALLY finished the nursery last night, with 12 days to spare. Good grief, what a relief! (Totally didn’t anticipate that rhyming when I started typing it out, but because I’m a dork I’m going to leave it…)

Looking into the room from the hall. Door on the left is the closet. My sister made the curtains, and a good friend in Japan painted the elephant prints. The pink tub next to the crib is our current toy box (gotta have a lid so the puppies don’t try to steal her toys), and the box on top is full of toys, but I haven’t washed those yet, so they aren’t in the box with the others.

Across the room from in front of the closet. All of the photos in the big brown frames are ones of elephants that friends or family members took. The house-shaped frame on the right is pictures from right before and right after my birth, and the rectangular frame below it holds pictures of Jim and me from our childhoods. The brown frame on the light pink wall is the Horizons cover made for me when I left my job at Marketing in Japan the first time I was pregnant.

Into the closet from the middle of the room. I’m only a little bit OCD. We have two of the calendars that are hanging on the inside of the door – one in Spanish and one in English. Once Eddy is alert enough we will start going over things in both languages every day to give her a basic knowledge of day-to-day stuff in both languages (before we let Dora and Diego take over her Spanish education).

From beside the crib across the room. The elephant print above the bookshelf is from Nerdy Baby and tells Newton’s three laws of motion. The fire truck is from Jim’s childhood. You can also see under the changing table which, again, expresses my little bit of OCD. This will all stay organized until Eddy’s old enough to make it all a mess. Six months of nursery organization is more than I can ask for. 🙂

To say that I love this room would be a major understatement. And just so you know (since one of our friends asked), we are NOT trying to make our child a Republican. She can have whatever political beliefs she wants. I just love elephants. 🙂

Anywho… If you’re local, I can’t wait for you to see the nursery in person. If you’re not, well, just know it’s beautiful! 🙂

 

4 Responses to “NURSERY IS FINISHED!”

  1. Laura McPhail Says:

    Tara, I love the nursery (even despite its Republican overtones)! No, really, it is a beautiful place for a little girl and I like that you guys are planning to helping her become bilingual. Spanish will be a big help in Oklahoma! I think my favorite accent piece is the painting of the elephants with Newton’s laws of motion. That is just too cool. Anyway, I’ve never seen a nursery like yours before, so kudos on making it a truly unique place for your little bundle of happiness.

  2. Patty Says:

    The nursery looks awesome…love all the details:) Thinking of you as your big day approaches!!!

  3. Cyn Says:

    I absolutely love it


Leave a Reply

