Our Little Geekling

Our journey toward finding out what it means to be a parent.

Ridiculous November 17, 2010

Filed under: Pregnancy — mrsdangelo @ 08:23

So… I know you’re all astounded by the number of posts I’ve been putting out lately. Just enjoy it while it lasts. 🙂 Hopefully I’m not boring you all to tears by now!

Yesterday was a CRAZY day. Around noon I started having contractions. They weren’t painful; I could feel my belly tighten, and after about 15 seconds or so I would start breathing a little more heavily and then my stomach would relax and Eddy would kick and wiggle and move around. Around 3pm they still hadn’t stopped, and while they weren’t painful, they were coming every 5-7 minutes without fail. I called my doctor’s office, and they told me to head to the Women’s Center at our local medical center and ask to be put on a monitor. I called Jim, and we decided he wouldn’t come with me because I didn’t want him to worry unnecessarily, or just sit by the bed while I was on a monitor staring at me, helpless. I felt it would be better for me to update him on the situation and he had a lot to do at home with work and school, so he was better off focusing on that and receiving update texts instead of sitting in the monitoring room at the medical center.

I was on a monitor for about 45 minutes. I was, indeed, having contractions every 5-7 minutes, but they weren’t labor contractions, and they weren’t progressing at all to become such, and Eddy was responding well to them. Then the nurse “checked” me and I was still all closed up – that’s a good thing, in case there are any people who don’t know about labor reading this. (Uh, the nurse had short fingers which, if you are a woman who has been “checked” you know it makes things a bit more uncomfortable and painful in that situation. Not cool.) My doctor was the one on-call, and he was content with the nurse’s evaluation and the monitor readout. He said that he would prescribe me a muscle relaxer which would relax my uterus and stop the contractions if I wanted, but I opted to wait to see if they would stop on their own, rather than be on yet another medication. If they start back up again in the same manner, I’ll call his office to get the prescription, though. If they start back up again and are painful, real labor contractions, I’m supposed to head back to the medical center.

So, anywho. That was my ridiculous Tuesday. I woke up today sore all over and with an exhausted body. Here’s hoping Wednesday treats me a little bit better!

I know that I’ve progressed in my pregnancy enough that if Eddy was born now, chances are good that she would be okay. But since I had a 39-week baby that wasn’t okay, I’m not too keen on having a 32-week baby and hoping for the best. I so appreciate that my doctor is so careful with me and is not taking any chances. It’s nice to have someone who cares about your health and the health of your child when faced with frightening situations like I’ve had in this pregnancy.

Happy Wednesday to you all!

P.S. I had a dream last night that Eddy was born (it was a super-weird dream, so I won’t bore you with the crazy details) and she didn’t look like me or Jim or Angel, but she had a LOT of hair (which was my focus yesterday morning with horrible heartburn, which you know if you’re my Facebook friend), and it wasn’t as long as Jim’s crazy mane, but it was in the same sort of non-style, and wavy and thick and dark brown. Strange dream. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

