Our Little Geekling

Our journey toward finding out what it means to be a parent.

32 Weeks and 11.5 months (2 stories) November 15, 2010

Filed under: Baby,Life and Love,Pregnancy — mrsdangelo @ 19:05

Tomorrow I will be 32 weeks pregnant. As of Wednesday, we will have 5 weeks until our delivery date. To say I’m excited would be the understatement of the century. I had a doctor’s appointment today, complete with NST, an ultrasound, a visit with the doctor, and a blood draw. I got all of my questions answered from the doctor, and after telling him how much water I’ve been drinking and ice I’ve been craving, he agreed with me that I should have another glucose and iron test (hence the blood draw). The NST was fine; Eddy was moving around like a crazy girl, and her heartbeat was going up when it was supposed to. The ultrasound showed the growth spurt I knew must have occurred since my belly really grew a lot over the last three weeks (and my back pain increased significantly). Eddy is now weighing in at about 4 lbs, 9 oz (remember three weeks ago she weighed 2 lbs, 13 oz). She’s now in the 50th percentile in weight, and the radiologist said that at this rate of growth she will probably hit 7 lbs by her birth at 37 weeks! So exciting. She didn’t estimate length, but everything looked great, her skull and spine are growing just fine, and her stomach grew a lot in the last 3 weeks. All in all, everything looked great!

Here’s a picture of a little bitty foot, and one of a little bitty hand. Eddy was facing my back today, so no face shots.

It’s been almost a year since we lost our Angel. November 27th will prove to be a very difficult day in our house, and we plan to celebrate our girl on that day. I have had lots of friends have babies and/or announce pregnancies in the last 11.5 months. I have had friends that have lost babies early in pregnancy. I have heard everyone’s friend’s or family member’s story about stillbirths. I have celebrated the milestones of babies that were born just before or just after Angel. I have been happy for all of these friends, despite the pang of pain that accompanies news like this. I miss my daughter. She shouldn’t have died. We all know this. All of you know how difficult the journey has been for Jim and me. Even finding out that I was pregnant again was a bittersweet, both happy and sad time. At my appointment today the NST brought back harsh memories of being in labor and hearing Angel’s heart beating, seeing the doctor and nurses look at the readout from the machine. When I’m in the OR for Eddy’s delivery, I will almost certainly have flashbacks of Angel’s delivery, and every second until I hear her first cries will be like hours of waiting and stress and fear.

But Sunday I found out that one of my oldest and most wonderful friends was pregnant. She and I have known each other since first grade. We grew up together. Her husband and I have known each other since 9th grade. She and her husband have struggled with getting pregnant, and it’s been really hard to go through this pregnancy and know that months were passing and as my belly and baby grew, they were having a hard time. Despite conception struggles, she was so happy for Jim and me, and has been so gracious as my pregnancy has progressed. Sunday she told me she was 15 weeks along. 15 weeks! She’s almost to the halfway mark already! I was so overjoyed to find out that they are expecting. And it gives me great strength of mind and heart for other friends that have struggled or are struggling with conception. And for the first time since losing Angel, there was no pang of pain that accompanied the joy I have for my friends. There was simply happiness for them, love for their unborn child, excitement for this gift they’ve received. It was an awakening in my heart, one that was long-coming along a difficult road. Congratulations, wonderful friends! I can’t wait for our kiddos to grow up together like we got to!

Happy Monday to the rest of you. Here’s hoping your week is great!

 

One Response to “32 Weeks and 11.5 months (2 stories)”

  1. Cyn Says:

    I love Eddy’s pics. Have I told you how strong and wonderful you are. I just thought I’d let you know. You really are an amazing woman Tara. I will be thinking of little Angle on 27 Nov and praying for you guys as well.


Leave a Reply

