Our Little Geekling

Our journey toward finding out what it means to be a parent.

29 Week Appointment! And a short rant… October 26, 2010

Filed under: Baby,Life and Love,Pregnancy — mrsdangelo @ 20:31
I went in today for an appointment and ultrasound. It was so wonderful to get to see Eddy moving and wiggling and kicking away. The radiologist said that she’s about 2lbs, 13 oz right now, in the 41st percentile (meaning that she’s bigger than 41% of the other babies at her gestational age – right about average), and given my scheduled delivery date she will probably make it into the 6+ pound range by her birth at 37 weeks. That makes me really happy because delivering 3 weeks early is always a bit of a concern, even though it’s “full-term”; I was hoping she’d be at least 6.5lbs. I guess we’ll see! The radiologist said that she couldn’t tell length for sure (because the baby is longer than the ultrasound, I guess?), but estimated it at about 13 inches long, and noted that’s around 35% or so, another just about average measurement. Considering that I know a couple of SUPER TINY kids that were big at birth and some WAY BIGGER THAN AVERAGE kids that were average or small at birth, I’m not worried about delivering an average-sized baby. 🙂 Here’s a 4D shot for your viewing pleasure. She’s so beautiful! And she looks so much like Jim (he says she looks like me… I guess we’ll beg to differ until she gets here and we can judge accurately).
And now for my short rant. 🙂 Those of you who know me in real life (or, let’s face it, have seen pictures of me on this blog) know that I’m not the smallest girl. I’ve struggled with my weight since my adolescence. I’m healthy: I eat well, I exercise, I take care of myself. I do have a hard time losing weight, but I’m not so worried about it that I consider myself unhealthy or obese or think I’ve got a problem. I don’t wear plus-sized clothing, but only just barely. I started this pregnancy 10 lbs heavier than my last one; even though initially my baby weight came right off, due to stress and emotional issues it was easy to pile them back on. But overall, I’m okay. I know that obesity is an epidemic and that I don’t want to suffer from it, so I do everything I know how to stay out of that category and be healthy. Today, however, an article I saw online frustrated me beyond belief, as a large-ish woman in modern society. This article is a travesty. It’s horrible. The apology is half-hearted and frustrating. It makes me so angry to read things like that. But yet, that’s how a lot of people feel about the overweight in our society. I’m NOT obese, but I understand that obesity is a line that anyone could cross, and that just like any other eating disorder, obesity is a disease. Food can be an addiction; otherwise there wouldn’t be support groups for it like there are for drugs and alcohol. Even with the apology, and the editor’s attempt at changing the word “Fatties” to “Overweight Couples” on the search tag, the truth of the matter is that this article should never have made it to the Internet. It’s offensive. A magazine such as the one that put it out should know better. It’s a normally reputable magazine that just lost a LOT of readers. **And I’m stepping down from my soapbox now. 🙂
I hope you all have a wonderful week. I plan to get a lot done this weekend, and do very little after work each day in between. 🙂

 

 

2 Responses to “29 Week Appointment! And a short rant…”

  1. Kendal Wylie Says:

    Eddy has the sweetest face!!!! Can’t wait to meet her 🙂

  2. Cyn Says:

    OMG….she is absolutely beautiful. I can’t wait to see more pictures when she’s in your and Jim’s arms. Sweet Sweet Eddy!


Leave a Reply

