Our Little Geekling

Our journey toward finding out what it means to be a parent.

Alrighty, then. October 11, 2010

Filed under: Life and Love,Pregnancy — mrsdangelo @ 20:00

Well, today I started the new job. Apparently, all of my worry was for nothing.

There was absolutely no problem with me being pregnant. I still don’t know if they knew I was when I interviewed. At some point my manager made a subtle reference to me being pregnant, but it wasn’t unprofessional or strange or out of place. A couple of co-workers asked me about how far along I was, was it my first, etc. The HR manager asked me what my plans were for after the baby’s born and told me she’d double-check the short-term disability leave policy so that I had all the information I needed. All-in-all, things were good. And the job for which I was hired will not initially be as physical as I first thought, so I don’t have any worries about lifting too much. I will be cross-trained within the department and get to know two positions, which I love. It means more helping others and less downtime, which is great. My commute was about 15 minutes this morning, and I went to Target to get some groceries after work and got home at 5:35. Before if I had errands after work it was 6:30-7 before I got home, depending on traffic. 

So yeah. Alrighty, then. I guess I didn’t have anything to worry about which is great. I’m hopeful that my time at this company will be good and that I can make a long-term career there. My colleagues seem nice and well-educated. And I learned, after talking to several people, that moving between departments and among positions seems to be a regular occurence, which gives me hope for moving up within the company at some point in the future.

Anywho, things seemed good. Thanks for all of the happy thoughts and prayers for me today.

In closing, here’s a picture of my clearly civilian husband and me before a wedding on Sunday. The beard and hair, while a bit unruly, suit him, I think. 🙂

 

One Response to “Alrighty, then.”

  1. Cyn Says:

    You worry wart 🙂 Glad it all worked out. Love the picture….and Jim is definitely a civilian. You look too cute!


Leave a Reply

