Our Little Geekling

Our journey toward finding out what it means to be a parent.

Painting September 9, 2010

Filed under: Baby,Life and Love,Pregnancy — mrsdangelo @ 21:07

So. How are you? Right, this is a one-sided dialogue.

Okay, so over the long weekend I went to two home improvement stores in search of paint supplies and no/low-VOC paint. I found supplies at one store, and the two perfect colors of pink, available in no VOC, at the other. On Saturday I began my quest in the nursery, taping everything off (highly recommend this product – WONDERFUL!). Then Sunday I got to work. I wound up painting most of Sunday and most of Monday (Labor Day means you labor away on house projects, right!?), and I didn’t quite finish the room. It’s a small room. But I wasn’t slacking off! I finished: one coat of edging and two coats of paint on two walls. One coat of my super special super secret project. The project alone took 6 hours. Here’s a sneak preview:

No, I did not hand-draw that. I’m a proud stenciler. And no, I will not tell you what the project as a whole is. Not yet. I’m hoping to finish up the room this weekend, then I will post pictures of the whole thing. Trust me when I tell you it’s awesome. And if you don’t think it’s awesome when you see the finished product I don’t care. Because I LOVE it! And if Eddy hates pink and/or elephants, well, she won’t be able to tell me for a couple of years, so we’ll deal with it then. 🙂

Anywho…

Not much else has been going on around here. I had an appointment with my regular doctor on Tuesday (at 22 weeks), and everything was good. Eddy’s heartbeat was 148, and has been sticking between 135-150 when I listen to it in the evenings at home. Doctor said I’m measuring right on track. I have to do the dreaded glucose test at my next appointment (the receptionist told me I need to fast after midnight the night before and I was thinking, “Midnight! I’ve been asleep for 2-3 hours by then! I’ll have no trouble with that!”). The glucose test really isn’t that bad; I just have to hope that it’s a good morning that morning so I don’t throw back up the flat, super-sweet orange soda and have to go back for another test! I’m not really worried about the test because I didn’t have gestational diabetes during my first pregnancy and my diet hasn’t been any less strange or unhealthy this time around. I’m up one pound overall (but I gained three since my last appointment… I hadn’t realized that I’d lost weight). By this time when I was pregnant with our Angel I had gained about 12 pounds and I was working out 4-5 days a week. Perhaps the secret to not gaining weight is to eat healthy and sit around like a lump? Probably not, but it’s working for me so far! No, just kidding. I would give anything to have the time to work out! Thankfully it’s cooled down quite a bit here in the southwest, so I’m hoping I can start walking the dogs in the evenings. Lord knows I watch too much tv as it is!

Jim’s been working really hard at school and from our home business. I think he works too hard, but he’s content, and that’s the least I could ask for. As long as he’s happy, I’m happy.

Everything else in our lives is circumstantial and temporary, so I won’t really go into any of that. Suffice it to say that we are aware that the daily frustrations and stresses both inside our home and those that are external will all work themselves out in due time. Of course we both hope for things to work themselves out sooner, rather than later, but we try to be positive about all of that. We’re hoping to find some sort of normalcy again within the next month so that we can spend the last couple of months of this pregnancy really focusing on each other and getting our home, hearts and minds ready for parenthood again. (Of course, we’ve been ready for parenthood since March 23, 2009, when we found out we were pregnant the first time. This has proven to be a very stressful and emotionally trying time in our lives, due to things around us personally and professionally, to this pregnancy, and to the realization that even though this is not how things were supposed to be or how things were anticipated to be when we were planning our second child, this is how things are so we have to live with it; needless to say, it’s taking a lot of conscious effort to find normal in our current situation.)

Well, it’s 9:03, which means it’s three minutes past puppy bedtime and three minutes past time for me to go get ready for bed! Gonna go take some Tylenol PM crawl into bed with the Kindle and read till my eyes get droopy. Thank GOD tomorrow’s Friday!

 

2 Responses to “Painting”

  1. Flounder Says:

    Can’t wait to see the whole room…you are amazing!

  2. michelle Says:

    eddy will LOVE the room! can’t wait to see pics of her in it!


Leave a Reply

