Our Little Geekling

Our journey toward finding out what it means to be a parent.

Darn it! September 1, 2010

Filed under: Life and Love — mrsdangelo @ 20:42

I forgot to post over the weekend. You should just fire me from this non-paying gig. Sorry! Not much has been going on, though, in my defense! It’s time for me to post about my big sister, but that will take a while (because she’s so great), so be patient!

In the meantime, Jim and I have been busy at work making plans for the nursery. I successfully cleaned out two boxes of files, made a box of stuff to be shredded, another full box of stuff to be recycled, and fit all of our files into one half of one drawer. Quite a feat! This effort was encouraged by the necessity to use our office closet as a catch-all for extraneous wires, crafting stuff (which is all nicely organized), and wrapping paper. Right now, because of our current living situation with Jim’s cousin, all of the stuff that was being kept in the guest room closet is now in the middle of the nursery. I’d like to get it out of there this weekend and try to start decorating, since it’s a three-day weekend. I have really exciting plans for the nursery, but in case my creative mind ends up being too big for reality, I don’t want to share them yet. 🙂 Hopefully Saturday will see the moving of the big stuff that needs to go into the attic (Jim’s keyboard and its stand, a box of music that we don’t need out if the keyboard is going to the attic, stuff like that), the moving of the stuff that will go into the office closet into its new home, and the moving of the nursery stuff to the center of the room so we can paint. Then, my plans for Sunday (it’s a good thing Jim doesn’t read this blog because he would be looking at me like I’m crazy!) are to buy tape and paint and tape off the nursery. I’m going to get a low/no-VOC paint so that I can do some of the work myself, and so that the room will be able to be decorated immediately when it dries, rather than waiting for the chemicals to air out. Then Monday will hopefully see the finish of painting, including my special creative project. We’ll see… This is all sounding rather ambitious for a lazy weekend when I type it all out!

The rest of the weekend will find me relaxing, hopefully seeing some of the family (even if I have to put them to work to get to see them), and watching the Office (10 hours on TBS on Monday!). But I do plan to be productive. Maybe we can steal back the tv we put in the guest room when Brad got here and put it in the nursery so I can work while I watch 10 hours of one of my favorite shows… 🙂

Well, that’s about all that’s going on in our world. Like I said, we’re PRETTY BORING (and glad to be when we can!). Jim’s going crazy already and it’s only his second week of school. He’s taking 13 hours, which may not seem like a lot, until you find out that 5 hours are Spanish, 5 hours are Physics and 3 hours are Calculus. Unless you’re as big of a geek as he is (which I highly doubt, because he’s about as geeky as you can get), that makes the whole semester seem crazy! But he loves it, and I love him! 🙂

Hope you’re all having a good week!

 

2 Responses to “Darn it!”

  1. Cyn Says:

    Can’t wait to see pictures of the nursery. You’re so good. Kendall is 4 months old and I still haven’t put his stuff on the walls. (so horrible).

    Tell Jim good job with school. Enjoy your long weekend.

  2. Flounder Says:

    I always admire the way you plan! I thought I was a planner until I met you:)


Leave a Reply

