Our Little Geekling

Our journey toward finding out what it means to be a parent.

Peaceful Days August 22, 2010

Filed under: Life and Love — mrsdangelo @ 05:47

My favorite time of each week is when I wake up every Saturday morning and Jim’s breathing softly beside me, the dogs are quiet in their crates, the cat is curled up somewhere on the bed, and all is quiet. This morning I woke up at 8am and nothing was stirring until around 9. I love the quiet on Saturday mornings. I love living someplace without sharing a wall with a neighbor, without people who vacuum at 7am or play music until 2am or walk like elephants on their floor above our ceiling. I love the peacefulness that having a home can provide. And I love my family: Jim and our daughters and the hairy members of our family who make life more fun.

I know that the peace won’t last forever, but please don’t start sharing any unsolicited advice about the noise that occurs when you’re a parent, because I will gladly welcome Eddy’s cries anytime of day or night, just to be able to hear my child, hold her, soothe her and love on her.

(And, really, it’s NEVER quiet when you have children? Because I’m pretty sure kids sleep a whole lot. And I’m almost positive they aren’t making noise 24/7 when they aren’t asleep. Seriously. And the whole “sleep when you can” advice? Again, kids sleep a lot. And pregnant women don’t/can’t, no matter how hard we try. And I know children’s sleep is intermittent and it’s not consistent and they cry at inopportune times, but again, I am so excited about having a baby that lives that I don’t care about the noise, or the time of night. Plus, I’ll probably be so scared and such a crazy helicopter – always hovering – mom that I’ll check on her a million times a night when she IS sleeping quietly.)

I’ve been having really crazy vivid dreams lately, many more than  usual and many more than during my first pregnancy. They are really weird and I can’t quite figure out what my subconscious might be trying to tell me. Last week I dreamed about the post-apocalyptic world and Jim and I trying to escape with our dogs from some madmen and figuring out that it was a staged apocalypse and everything was actually okay, outside of the area where we were. Last night I dreamed about Michael Jackson doing a Super Bowl half-time show but he denied it was himself, even though he couldn’t account for the time and the dance moves were clearly his. And at the Super Bowl show (there was no game in my dream, only the show), Tom Hanks (my favorite actor) was there in a tux and I asked him to take a picture with me and we used a weird, old, polaroid-type film but you had to set it on fire and the picture remained when the flame burned out. I also recently dreamed that a friend and I were both pregnant and we had to travel out-of-state to confront a guy who was trying to steal another pregnant friend away from her husband. Weird because the friend with whom I was traveling isn’t pregnant in real life (unless that’s what my subconscious was telling me), and even if someone was trying to steal our other friend (who actually IS pregnant) away from her husband, she’d never go and she can take care of herself. But on the way to save our friend we got sidetracked on a bus with some crazy people and Earnest Hemingway’s sons (who were Brandon – a pastor who was trying to defend himself and his life from the crazy people on the bus who hated he and his brothers), Fraund and Ernst) and then we fell asleep and when I woke up we’d done nothing to help our friend. Like I said, weird dreams. I ALWAYS (even not pregnant) have weird dreams. But they have been especially strange and disconcerting lately. It really breaks into sound sleep to have strange dreams all night long, but since my mind and body are so tired lately anyway, I don’t think it really matters.

My baby sister (Kendal) has been in town the last week or so, and it’s been SO NICE being able to have her around. Last weekend we took my dogs to our grandfather’s house to go swimming. The dogs were big pansies and hated swimming (they LOVE to play in the sprinkler, so I didn’t know they’d hate the pool), but Kendal and I had fun. And she’s not leaving until Monday, so I’m really glad I still have a couple of days to spend with her. I really miss her when she’s gone at school, so I hope she’s able to come back soon. At least I know she’ll be home from Christmas break when Eddy is born. I’m super excited about that!

Anyway, besides the above, not too much has been going on. Hence the title, these have been pretty peaceful days lately. I love that. I am not big on laziness and not accomplishing things that need to be done, but peacefulness is much different to me than laziness. Our home is (fairly) clean, the laundry is done, we have food, we are healthy, our pets are happy, the baby is growing, Angel is watching over us, and we have an overall good life. No complaints here. Just peace.

 

3 Responses to “Peaceful Days”

  1. Cyn Says:

    I’m so excited for you guys….every time I read your blog it makes me smile and I can’t wait to see little Eddy’s picture. I know you’re going to be a worried mess but that’s what mothers are for. 🙂

  2. Flounder Says:

    Love that you have been able to find peace throughout this pregnancy:) Even after little Eddy is born, there will be plenty of more peaceful times!!!

  3. ashley Says:

    Those are some wild dreams! I have an obsession with looking up what my dreams mean on http://www.dreammoods.com/dreamdictionary/

    It’s so interesting!


Leave a Reply

