Our Little Geekling

Our journey toward finding out what it means to be a parent.

7-year Bliss July 27, 2010

Filed under: Life and Love — mrsdangelo @ 10:00

No 7-year itch for us! Today marks 7 years since I married my best friend. Jim was my dream come true, and I loved him so long before we said those words to each other. Jim is still my dream come true, still my best friend, and still the love of my life.

There have been moments in the last 7 years when neither of us were sure that things were going to work out. There were moments when each of us thought about leaving. There were days when we were just pulled apart by life.

But we hit our highest highs together: we traveled to the end of the earth, we made a life together, we made a beautiful child, we achieved some of our dreams and we learned to not just co-exist when we have differences of opinions on life, but how to live together happily when we are such different people.

We also hit our lowest lows together: we made it through the worst thing that parents can go through and came out on the other side, ready to make our lives not only go on, but to be happy together; we survived the hardest parts of marriage, we survived separations due to the military, we survived living 8,000 miles away from our normal world together and not only made it work, but were successful.

Seven years has been good to us. I love Jim more than life itself. Before we got married we both picked out Bible verses that we felt represented our relationship. His was Genesis 2:24 – “…A man shall leave his father and his mother, and be joined to his wife; and they shall become one flesh.” He felt that becoming my husband meant sacrificing all for me, and he was willing to love me above all else for his whole life. Mine was John 15:13 – “Greater love has no one than this, that one lay down his life for his friends.” I knew from the moment we fell into step as friends that he would be a part of me for the rest of my life. Soon after that I knew I loved him more than life. Jim was my best friend and we fell in love and we’re still best friends. I’m so happy with him.

Seven years. Wow, that’s a LONG time! 🙂

From young love – ages 19 and 21 (I’m older).

To present-day. Not quite old love, but growing every day.

I LOVE YOU, JIM!

 

Leave a Reply

