Our Little Geekling

Our journey toward finding out what it means to be a parent.

Oh yeah… July 13, 2010

Filed under: Life and Love,Pregnancy — mrsdangelo @ 09:50

Oh, yeah, I have a blog. I almost forgot! Well, I am not updating it as regularly this pregnancy. I’m not certain why, just not. Things are going well so far. Today I’m 13 weeks, 6 days. I called the doc last Friday and asked for some nausea medication. I’m on the same prescription I was on last time, which is just a wonderful medication. I can manage with my Sea-Bands most days, but sometimes you just need some Zofran to keep from vomiting. And sometimes not even that helps.

I keep waffling back and forth on whether this kid is a boy or girl. An inside joke, that will give you absolutely no clue as to what we’re naming our kid: we’ve been calling the baby Ike or Eddy; Ike is the boy nickname and Eddy is the girl nickname. Funny. I hope those nicknames don’t stick, though, once we find out the baby’s sex and share the name (I’m still on the fence about sharing before birth… don’t rush or bug me!). They are just funny names that I came up with in a fit of giggles (actually, I came up with a sillier name in a fit of unstoppable giggles for the boy nickname, but it’s too crazy to say except to Jim).

We had kind of a low-key weekend, which I love. We went to a DELICIOUS local Italian restaurant on Friday for date night, then watched a movie. Then Saturday we ran some errands, did some housework, and watched tv. Then Sunday I woke up with a crusty, disgusting eye that was watery and leaking a gunk. I know, gross. I was afraid I had pinkeye, but I wanted to flush it out all day and try to clear it up by myself so that I could go to work today. I am still in my probationary period at work and don’t have any usable sick time until about 2 weeks from now, so I didn’t want to have to miss work (again; I went home sick last Tuesday because I was having a really really rough day). But last night I could barely sleep and tossed and turned all night. Then I woke up at about 2am for a potty break (first trimester fun!) and BOTH of my eyes were crusted shut. Crap. So this morning I got up, went to the Urgent Care center and hoped for the best. No best. I have pinkeye in BOTH eyes. So I was quarantined for 2 days, can’t go back to work until Wednesday, and have to put an oily, greasy ointment in my eyes 5 times a day. I look like I’m perpetually crying, and my vision is blurred and my eyes feel all greasy and icky. Yay! Oh, AND I am not getting paid to sit at home feeling useless. Jim assures me I’m not useless, but I have my doubts. AND, my sinus problems that had started to improve came back full force, so I’m coughing, sneezing, blowing my nose several times an hour, trying to breathe and having trouble swallowing (from the throat pain). Of course, all of this is in addition to my pregnancy symptoms which have come into play so much recently that I’m taking the nausea medication on allowed dosage, instead of as needed because that’s how much it’s needed. I’m tellin’ ya, this is ridiculous. And yes, I’m whining, but it’s my blog! It’s my prerogative!

Okay, so on to more fun things. Tomorrow I’ll be 14 weeks pregnant, which is officially my second trimester! I bought a fetal Doppler this time around because, you know, I knew I’d be high-strung and worried all the time, and I thought it would be better for my state of mental health if I could find the baby’s heartbeat when I was worried. It’s been great to get to hear little Ike or Eddy moving around in there, and to be able to hear his/her heart beating so quickly. The heartbeat is always somewhere between 135-160, which is a strong range (although the myth is that if it’s a boy his heartbeat will regularly be lower than 150 bpm, and if it’s a girl her heartbeat will regularly be higher than 150 bpm, and with a range of 135-160, I have no clue!). My next appointment is the 26th (which also happens to be our SEVENTH wedding anniversary), so the doc will check to make sure everything’s going well. And at that appointment I’ll schedule the BIG REVEAL appointment where we find out if it’s Ike or Eddy in there; that appointment will be mid-late August, around 18-20 weeks.

Well, not much going on except for all of that. 🙂

Hope you’re all having a better week than mine! My father-in-law and brother-in-law are coming for a short visit next Sunday, and I’m excited to see them. I’ll share more about that after the visit. And I’ll try to remember that I have a blog… 🙂

 

2 Responses to “Oh yeah…”

  1. So much fun hearing about your second pregnancy. So sorry you have had the sickness, the pink eye, and the sinus problems!! I am glad you got the heartbeat doppler-I think that will be a nice peace of mind for you! Can’t wait to find out what you are having!!

  2. Flounder Says:

    Happy Anniversary to come!!!


Leave a Reply

