Our Little Geekling

Our journey toward finding out what it means to be a parent.

Meatless March April 2, 2010

Filed under: Life and Love — mrsdangelo @ 05:18

Well, March is over, and it’s now April Fool’s Day. I tried to fool Jim today by telling him I crashed his computer, but he was nonplussed by the idea and didn’t freak out like I had hoped. Oh well. I guess it’s better to have an unexcitable husband since I’m so ridiculously excitable.

For the month of March Jim and I decided to go meatless. I got the idea from Jennie over at She Likes Purple. It was an effort to start cooking with fresher foods, cooking more often than eating out, and had the added bonus of helping us feel healthier and hopefully jumpstart weight loss (it’s been scientifically proven that people, especially Americans, eat too much meat for our bodies; this is a fairly new development that began with our generation). Over the course of the month we tried a bunch of new foods and recipes, even though we ate more frozen pizza than I’d like to admit and still went out some. But, we did achieve our other goals. I learned a lot of new recipes and great foods, I feel healthier than when I have meat every day, I lost a little bit of weight, and we ate at home a LOT more. So, all in all I’d call Meatless March a success.

Here are some of the recipes we ate. Some of them were from cookbooks, some were my own take on recipes I make with meat or my take on recipes from cookbooks, and others were completely made up. All were delicious!:

Tofu Rancheros with southwestern rice
Vegetarian Mexican Lasagna
Pasta salad (with whole wheat rotini, veggies and tofu)
Vegetarian sausage with peppers and spaghetti squash
Homemade black bean burgers with sweet potato fries
Spinach and mushroom enchiladas with Spanish rice and black beans
Homemade pizza with veggies and tofu
Stuffed bell peppers with couscous, beans, veggies and cheese
Sweet potato and squash quesadillas
Spicy sesame broccoli with pan-fried tofu and sticky rice
Polenta with black beans, spinach and sun-dried tomatoes
Vegetarian Paella
Spinach-artichoke salad with veggies and garbanzo beans
Baked cheese ravioli with veggies and marinara sauce
Tofu and couscous with sun-dried tomatoes and onions
Vegetarian tortilla casserole
French bread Margherita pizza
Roasted BBQ tempeh with veggies and sweet potato fries

There were others, but I don’t remember them all, and we still ate out occasionally. 🙂 All in all, it was a pretty good experience.

This month I also made my way through the book Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer. I saw the author on Ellen and decided to read it. It’s about the factory farming industry and convinces a lot of people to stop eating meat altogether. As a Christian, though, I believe that God gave us dominion over animals (and, frankly, I really like meat), and the book convinced me that changes are needed in the farming industry and in legislation for it. There are several stores around here where I can buy responsibly farmed meat until changes occur in the industry, something Oklahoma City refers to as Slow Foods. So if you’re in the area and interested in the movement, you can shop at Native Roots, Forward Foods, The Earth, or elsewhere in OKC. If you’re not in Oklahoma, you can check for stores in other areas here. You can also get involved in the movement and write your congressmen or check out other resources from Farm Forward. Please don’t get me wrong: if you’re a vegetarian or vegan for either health or moral reasons (or both) I will never judge you for it. I was a vegetarian for 3 years because I didn’t like the idea of eating food with a face, and one of my sisters is a vegetarian and one of my brothers is vegan.

Well, now that I’ve rambled on for a bit, I’ll stop. 🙂  Hope you’re all doing well. Easter is this weekend and I’ll write a post about Easter and spring soon. This is shaping up to be a pretty difficult time of year for me, but more on that later. Thank you all for your love, hugs, attention, care, kindness and support. I’m super blessed, despite everything that’s gone on in the past several months. Love and hugs to you all!

 

Leave a Reply

