Our Little Geekling

Our journey toward finding out what it means to be a parent.

39 and READY November 21, 2009

Filed under: Pregnancy — mrsdangelo @ 09:29

38 WEEKS PREGNANT – 39TH WEEK OF DEVELOPMENT

Oh my goodness. Do you realize that not only have we been “full term” for a whole week, but we’re less than 2 (TWO!) weeks away from our due date? I’m SO READY to meet this little girl, but not until she’s done cooking – I want her to be the healthiest possible, and if not for the stabbing pains and the intermittent contractions, I would be waiting it out a LOT more patiently. 🙂

Little Girl is probably about 7 lbs (about the weight of a mini-watermelon) and stretching about 19-21 inches long these days. She is forming new skin as she sheds her old skin.

This week:
-She’s still gaining a layer of fat to help control her body temperature after birth.
-Her brain development is still continuing to go strong, something we’re really excited about and that will continue through the first three years. We know she’ll be so impressionable, and we plan to take every opportunity to teach her all kinds of stuff. I don’t know if she’ll be quite the geek that we have both turned out to be, but we’re hoping!
-Her skin is probably less pink and more white in color, which probably won’t change much after birth if she’s anything like me – pale pale pale! But maybe she’ll get her dad’s beautiful olive-colored skin – we can only hope.

As for me:
-I have a doctor’s appointment on Monday to see if I’m progressing at all. I really hope that all of these pains I’ve been experiencing mean I am, but I know that 2 weeks is a long time, and she might even be late since she’s my first.
-We had our breathing class last Sunday and learned some techniques for relaxation and a little more about how the beds in the labor & delivery ward work and what our options will be for when I’m laboring. We have a follow-up class this Sunday.
-I have still had a lot of nausea this week, but only one really bad incident, and some headaches and nosebleeds, which are old symptoms that have returned to greet me.
-This baby just feels heavy. I don’t think she’s dropped too much, but maybe she has a bit, because my heartburn, while still going strong, has lightened a bit.
-I’ve been having intermittent contractions, but nothing too strong or consistent, so I think they are just Braxton Hicks contractions increasing in frequency.

The bags are packed and by the door, there’s a list of last-minute additions to pack on the fridge, and we’re ready and waiting for our little girl’s arrival. I have been very busy this week, despite being extremely exhausted, trying to get ready to come home after she arrives. I have made 9 meals that are now frozen and have about 5 more to go to help us eat without a lot of fuss. I painted the cradle from my childhood that my mom kept and my dad sent to us and we plan to put it together today. I’m trying not to overdo it, but by the end of every day I am exhausted and my poor feet and back are killing me. I have been staying on top of the housecleaning, rather than try to do it all at once. We’re having some friends over tonight, so I will be doing a bit more than the usual day to get ready for their visit, but normally I keep it to one or two chores maximum so I spread out the cleaning through the week and I don’t wear myself out. All in all, we’re just patiently (Jim) and not so patiently (me) waiting to meet our girl!

A lot of you have been asking how Jim’s holding up through all of this, and the short answer is: amazingly. The longer answer is that he’s incredibly calm and collected, patient, helpful, low-stress, uncomplaining, and not at all nervous or anxious about the delivery or becoming a dad. The only thing that gets to him is when I’m in pain, but he handles it very well, tries to help me through it and tells me to relax when he knows I’m overdoing it, and has just been incredible any way you look at it. I know he will be a great coach and partner through my labor and delivery and recuperation. He’s going to be a great dad (and is always a wonderful husband)!

Anyway, that’s all for now! I promise to post pictures of the nursery when it’s complete, but there are still a couple of little additions and details to finish before I reveal it. 🙂 Thanks for all of your thoughts and prayers – keep ’em coming!

 

Leave a Reply

