Our Little Geekling

Our journey toward finding out what it means to be a parent.

Mid-thirties October 24, 2009

Filed under: Pregnancy — mrsdangelo @ 20:10

34 WEEKS PREGNANT – 35TH WEEK OF DEVELOPMENT

Week 34 - 23 October

Our precious baby girl is about 18-20 inches long this week and weighs between 5.25-5.5 pounds (about the weight of a honeydew melon – wish they were in season, that sounds great!). She’s coming along!

This week:
-Her movement is steady, but she’s not doing many flips anymore, since she’s plumping up and running out of room
-Her kidneys are fully developed and her liver can process some waste products
-Her basic physical development should be complete!
-Still in development is her brain, which continues to develop at a rapid rate
-Hopefully she’s head down in the right position; I think she might be, because my bladder is feeling the strain, and most of the movement I feel is up top, indicating that might be her little feet kicking me

As for me:
-My cold/cough/flu or whatever it was is dissipating, but I’m not out of the woods yet. I had to wear a mask and refrain from holding or touching the sweet little boy my friends had this week, which was hard! Making things worse, I think Jim may have caught what I had, but hopefully his won’t be so severe since his immune system is strong, and mine seems a bit weakened by the support it’s giving to the little one growing inside of me
-My nausea, too, has not subsided, and at this point I’m not thinking it will, I’m just hoping it won’t hinder my labor and delivery
-It’s hard to breathe sometimes, and I’ve been having a lot of Braxton Hicks contractions, but not so many that I need to worry
-The only symptom that seems to be escalating is my heartburn; now I have to top up my Zantac with Tums
-I’ve also had a lot of sharp pains down very low, which is not fun, especially when the pain hits me in public and I have to either grip through it so no one notices, or stop and breathe through it (which makes people think I’m in labor or something)
-I had my first total stranger belly-touching experience this week, which was humorous and unstoppable. I was waiting for the elevator in our building and the little Japanese janitor who cleans the lobby, elevators and basement every day came up and started rubbing my belly. I tried to tell her when I was due and that it was a girl, but I’m not sure if my Japanese was comprehensible. It was funny.
-I don’t think the baby likes when I cough, because she’s been very still the last few days. I’ve been pushing on and moving the belly around trying to get her to move. She moves a lot when I drink cold milk, so I’ve been drinking a lot to reassure myself that she’s fine.

The biggest news from our household this week is that I finished all of the requirements for my Master’s! I took my comprehensive exam on Thursday (my college has an option for eCampus students to take a comprehensive exam instead of writing a thesis, which I opted for since I didn’t think I could complete my research for a thesis over here and I didn’t want to have to spend a few months in the States just to do it). Provided I pass the test I should be a graduate school graduate! Hopefully I’ll get my diploma in the mail in the coming months and everything will be copacetic. A belated Happy Birthday to my wonderful dad, who celebrated his 52nd birthday (sorry, Dad, I can’t lie) on Thursday. We miss you and love you so much!

 

Leave a Reply

