Our Little Geekling

Our journey toward finding out what it means to be a parent.

30th Week September 19, 2009

Filed under: Pregnancy — mrsdangelo @ 17:34

29 WEEKS PREGNANT – 30TH WEEK OF DEVELOPMENT

 Week 29 - 18 September

Baby Girl Geekling is still between 15-17 inches long now and weighs about 3 pounds, about the weight of a head of cabbage.

This week:
-She is surrounded by about a pint and a half of amniotic fluid, but as she gets bigger that volume will decrease
-If she were born right now she would only be able to see a few inches in front of her face; by the time she’s born she’ll be able to see about 8-10 inches in front of her face, so her eyes still have some developing to do
-Her brain mass is growing daily and is starting to look like a real, slimy brain with grooves and wrinkles, which help her brain tissue to develop. Our geeky girl is going to be smart!
-She can now regulate her own body temperature a little better and will start shedding the lanugo, the downy body hair that has covered her body up to now. Most, but maybe not all of the lanugo will be shed before she is born
-Baby Girl’s bone marrow will take over production of red blood cells, which will help her ability to thrive outside of the womb

As for me:
-This was a pretty rough week, as far as pregnant weeks go
-My nausea is still holding strong, compounded, I think, by my rampant acid reflux and heartburn
-My weight gain was nonexistent over the past two weeks, in fact I had lost 1/2 a pound, so I was happy about that. I’ve gained too much already (5 pounds more than the limit that was set for me at my first appointment), and the doctor’s scale makes it seem even worse (they went by the at-home weight that I wrote down on my paperwork, rather than weighing me at my first consultation appointment, and their scale is 8 pounds heavier than ours at home). So I’m good with gaining as little weight as possible from here on out, even though I’m supposed to be gaining now.
-I’ve been swimming as much as possible, but my acid reflux has been making that difficult, so I only went twice this week. Hopefully with the Zantac I’ll be able to go more often next week.
-I took an infant/child CPR class this week and am now certified to save an infant or child, ages 0-12 from choking, resuscitate them if they are not breathing and able to perform CPR when necessary. Next week I am taking a first aid class, and the week after that I am taking an adult CPR class. It was more cost effective to take all three than to just take the infant/child class ($30 for one class, $40 for all three), so I signed up for all of them.

We had a doctor’s appointment on Thursday and everything sounded great with the baby and with me. Baby Girl Geekling’s heart rate was 155bpm, so she’s holding steady. I passed my second glucose test and my iron levels are good. The doctor gave me a prescription for Zantac to help my acid reflux and it has helped immensely. I got my RhoGAM shot (because I’m Rh negative), which was not as bad as I thought it would be; it felt like a wasp sting and then the injection spot on my hip was sore all day. If the baby is negative, too, I won’t have to have another shot, but if she’s positive (they’ll test her cord blood after birth) I will have to have another one after her delivery. My next appointment is not until 15 Oct, when I’m almost 33 weeks along; our next ultrasound won’t be until I’m about 35-36 weeks, so the end of Oct/beginning of Nov. Before that I am taking a class called Bundles for Babies, and then I’ll take my infant feeding/nursing class in November. After 32 weeks we can take our Labor and Delivery class at the hospital and get a tour of the Labor and Delivery floor. It’s hard to believe in just a few months she’ll be here!

Hope you all have a wonderful week!

 

Leave a Reply

