Our Little Geekling

Our journey toward finding out what it means to be a parent.

Twenty Four – Last of the Second August 9, 2009

Filed under: Pregnancy — mrsdangelo @ 21:04

24TH WEEK OF PREGNANCY – 23 WEEKS PREGNANT

Week 23 - 7 August

Our little girl geekling is going strong this week, weighing in at about 1.4 lbs and growing to a length of about 12 inches, about the size of an ear of corn. I’m sure with our genes she’ll be cracking corny jokes in no time.

This week:
-Her body is beginning to fill out proportionally so that she can start to get all cute and chubby
-Her brain is growing quickly; we can’t wait to fill it with all of our both useless and useful knowledge after her birth. We’re hoping she’ll be quite stuidous and geeky (and with us as her parents  her chances are good).
-Her taste buds are continuing to develop.
-Her lungs are developing branches and cells that produce surfactant that will help her air sacs inflate for that first, wonderful, reassuring cry after birth (and all of the middle of the night crying after that).
-Her skin is still thin and translucent, but will start to change soon.
-Much of the weight she will gain this week comes from the growth of her organs, bones and muscles.
-Her face is almost fully formed and her eyelashes, eyebrows and hair are in place.

As for me:
-My nausea is still running rampant, and I’m just praying it will end soon. I’m almost to the end of my second trimester and I’d like to enjoy a bit of this pregnancy before things start getting super uncomfortable.
-My headaches, also, are not subsiding and are still quite forceful several times a week.
-I found my first stretchmarks this week. It was a very disheartening discovery, as I hoped that I would be able to skip that part of pregnancy.
-My belly button might “pop” soon, something else I’m not looking forward to. My stomach has been very tender already, and I know that as our little girl gets stronger it will only get worse.
-My uterus is now about the size of a soccer ball. Wow, that really puts things into perspective. It’s so weird that she has all this room to roam around in there right now but will fill out that space pretty soon.
-I have a doctor’s appointment on Thursday. I’ll get to hear the baby’s heartbeat and just a general check up. It should be uneventful. The doctor will order any other testing that will need to be done, but I don’t think I have to have any more tests or blood drawn until about 28-30 weeks. I am, however, going to request some prescription headache medication. I think that the nausea, even active nausea a few times a week, and the indigestion and the heartburn are more manageable than feeling like someone is sitting on my head for 2 days straight!

In other news, Friday was my last day of work! I am now officially unemployed and couldn’t be happier about it. I start my new (and last!) term of school tomorrow. I should be finished with my Master’s about the end of October. SO EXCITED!

And finally, this week marked two big birthdays in our family. So to both Terry and Ruth, we hope you had wonderful birthdays! We love you!

 

Leave a Reply

