Our Little Geekling

Our journey toward finding out what it means to be a parent.

21 – Halfway there… in theory July 18, 2009

Filed under: Pregnancy — mrsdangelo @ 16:12

20 WEEKS PREGNANT – 21ST WEEK OF PREGNANCY

Week 20 - 17 July

This week:
-The baby will grow to about 10.5 inches long from head to toe, about the length of a carrot, and to about three-quarters of a pound
-He or she has begun to taste everything I eat by swallowing a bit of amniotic fluid every day for nutrition, hydration and digestion practice; hopefully when he or she gets a taste of fresh fruit and vegetables I can start eating them again without getting nauseated
-I should start to really feel the “flutters” this week; which for me hopefully means being able to identify the “flutters” as the baby moving
-If I can feel he or she kicking I should be able to pick up on a pattern, as he or she works into regular movement
-The baby’s eyebrows and eyelids are present now
-If it’s a girl her vagina has begun to form

As for me:
-I might start getting stretch marks soon, something I’m not too excited about and I hope won’t happen for awhile
-I also might start getting varicose veins, another something I hope doesn’t happen
-I am still experiencing nausea every day; now, I know that certain women experience different things, but are you kidding me? Nausea at 20 weeks? Give me a break!
-I think I had some Braxton Hicks contractions the other night; I awoke at 3am with extreme pain in my lower abdomen that lasted for a few minutes. I was thinking that I might need to go to the hospital, but since the pain went away I didn’t go. If it comes back I will definitely go to the hospital.
-Lastly, and most controversially, I’m sure, I have also been receiving mass amounts of unsolicited advice along with the advice I actually ask for. I’m so sick of people telling me what is going to happen, because they experienced it (but they can hardly believe that in the second trimester I have daily nausea and I’m not having the time of my life). No offense to everyone, but I know things are not going to get easier, and I know that it will only get harder and I know that the third trimester and getting kicked from the inside and the labor and the first few months/years of the baby’s life are going to be hard and that when my kid is a teenager I will want to strangle him or her at times, but I don’t need people to tell me all of that – I know! I have had a lot more difficult pregnancy than I thought I would and it’s been really frustrating for people to tell me it was only going to get harder when I know that because that’s what I’ve been experiencing. I’m not counting on things getting easier (especially because when things were supposed to get easier they didn’t); I’m not naive. I ask for advice when I want/need it, and I’m so very appreciative of all of the people who have been supportive or friendly or helped me out when I needed it or given me advice when I’ve asked for it. But please please PLEASE don’t tell me how easy I’ve had it so far and how much worse things can/will get. I need support, not for people to try to scare me or make me feel worse. Sorry for the aside, it’s just getting more and more frustrating and with my added hormones and emotions it’s not helping.
🙂

In other news… We have an ultrasound on Thursday morning and I am so excited I could scream! Since I, apparently, am not going to feel the baby moving around to reassure me that everything is okay, it will be nice to see him or her moving around on the screen.

Hope everyone is having a good week!

 

One Response to “21 – Halfway there… in theory”

  1. Mom/Sandra/Nanna Says:

    Yay! The 1/2 way point. Because you waited so late to tell us, & I wouldn’t have wanted you to tell us in any other way than you did, the time seems to be flying along. I hope you’re feeling better soon, I hope all the nausea just disappears. I’ve read that if you have the skin type that gets stretch marks, you may get them a little easier, but that keeping the tummy lotioned up can definitely help. And I never got varicose veins, so maybe you won’t either. My Braxton Hicks contractions were never painful. With Tana, I had to have my hand on my stomach to be able to tell if I was even having one or not. Maybe your sharp pain was stretching ligaments, or muscular. The doctor will have the answer. Please know that I’m not giving any advice, just information. It’s been too long since I’ve been pregnant, (Thank YOU, Lord!), to give advice. Of course, we hope you’ll decide to tell us the gender after the ultrasound on Thursday, but NO pressure. You do what you want. And I got a big box in the mail on Saturday, but I’ll wait until my real birthday to open it. (I was going to just ignore it this year, but…) Love you so much. Take care, & feel better!


Leave a Reply

