Our Little Geekling

Our journey toward finding out what it means to be a parent.

19th Week July 3, 2009

Filed under: Pregnancy — mrsdangelo @ 16:37

18 WEEKS PREGNANT – 19TH WEEK OF PREGNANCY

Week 18 - 3 July

This week:
-The baby will grow to about the size of a mango or an heirloom tomato, about 6 inches long, and will grow to a weight of about 8.5 ounces
-The baby will develop a greasy white substance all over his or her body called vernix caseosa that will protect him or her from “pickling” (according to babycenter.com – a weird thought) in the amniotic fluid
-His or her arms and legs are in the proper proportions to each other and the rest of his or her body now
-His or her kidneys are continuing to make urine
-His or her scalp is beginning to sprout hair (which I hope her or she will retain after birth, because I was bald for a LONG time)
-The baby’s sensory development is really racing this week, and his or her brain is designating specialized areas for all five senses; he or she should be able to hear all of the talking we’ve been doing to the belly bump and the music we blast in the car (this kid is going to either love or hate Billy Joel and Elton John!) and at home
-He or she should also be moving a lot this week, although I’m stil unable to feel any movement (I know, it’s supposed to feel like gas bubbles, but I don’t feel those either)

As for me:
-I should be feeling round ligament pain even more clearly now; although my abdominal pain has been pretty steady for awhile
-I also am getting some numbness and tingling in my extremities, which is apparently normal; in addition I’ve been having some swelling in my feet
-My skin also may experience some reddening, my freckles, moles and scars may become more pronounced with the changing skin tone
-I also have to be more careful about skin exposure; like my pasty white skin can handle any more potential damage! I’d better stick to the SPF 30+, huh?
-I have still had quite a lot of nausea, and I have a very weak stomach, getting nauseated very easily (something I never really had before)
-My headaches are also not getting any better; I have at least 4 or 5 headaches per week, usually lasting more than 12 hours at a time, and sometimes longer (meaning I pretty much have a headache every day, whether it’s leftover from the day before or not)

Not too much else to report! We’re giving a lot of thought to the things we’d like to purchase for the little one, and have already bought a few things. I ordered some maternity clothes this week, which was exciting, especially since I can’t zip any of my pants. 🙂 And we picked out the baby’s name this week, narrowing our list to two wonderful first names and a middle name that goes with both. We will wait to meet our child before we determine the final name. Even though it’s likely that we’ll reveal the baby’s sex to you all, there’s no chance at all of us revealing the name(s) we have picked, so don’t even bother pestering us. 🙂

Hope you have a wonderful week!

 

Leave a Reply

