Our Little Geekling

Our journey toward finding out what it means to be a parent.

Nine April 18, 2009

Filed under: Pregnancy — mrsdangelo @ 01:09

9TH WEEK OF DEVELOPMENT – 8 WEEKS ALONG

Friday, 17 Apr, marked my eighth week of pregnancy. Our little geekling is really moving along!

This week:
-Our baby has graduated from embryo to fetus! Congratulations!
-S/he is about one inch long, about the size of a green olive.
-The head has straightened out and is more fully developed
-The ears are getting bigger (not too big, I hope!), and some new organs are forming (liver, spleen and gallbladder)
-S/he is also making some sporadic movement – although I can’t feel it, I understand that it is the source of my regular nausea. Luckily I haven’t thrown up (knock on wood)!
-It’s possible that our geekling’s heart could be heard on a doppler now. But I don’t go to the doctor until 30 April, just before I hit 10 weeks. Hopefully s/he won’t be shy and I’ll get to hear his or her heartbeat.
-I’ve been feeling tired and randomly nauseous. (Apparently the exhaustion is primarily caused by the development of the placenta to protect the little geekling, plus my metabolism and hormones are increasing and my blood pressure is lower than usual.) I’m still thirsty all the time, but drinking too much water makes my stomach churn.
-I’ve also had some random cravings; nothing weird or in particular, just hankerings for things randomly. Yesterday I really wanted Taco Bell because my office faintly smelled like ground beef. I think my sense of smell is more developed. 🙂
-My pants are getting a little tight in the waist, but I haven’t seen any difference on the scale, so it’s probably just an uncomfortable reallocation of my weight.
-I’ve been having trouble running, which is not a good thing for me. I tried to go for a short 4-miler the other day and made it to almost 2 miles before I had to walk out the rest. I ended up walking the rest of the way of the 4.5 miles (it was a planned 4 mile run and .5 mile cooldown). Today I attempted another short run and only made it about 100 yards before I had to walk. So I ended up walking 5 miles instead. I have a 10K (6.2 miles) race tomorrow, so we’ll see how I do. I have another pregnant friend, and two friends pushing strollers that I’m certain will be supportive and walk with me if needed. Thank God for good friends!

I’m just four weeks away from winging my way to the States to see Jim again and to visit my family. I can’t wait!

 

One Response to “Nine”

  1. michelle Says:

    when you are far away from the fam, friends are your fam!


Leave a Reply

