Our Little Geekling

Our journey toward finding out what it means to be a parent.

24 March 2009 April 18, 2009

Filed under: Pregnancy — mrsdangelo @ 00:37

HOORAY!

Well, it happened! It happened a LOT sooner than we thought it would. A couple of days ago, after the marathon I expressed my concerns to Jim, who is in the States on a business trip, about being “late” and he suggested I take a pregnancy test. Just in case, I bought two. I didn’t think I was pregnant, but then again we were trying, so it could have happened that fast. The first looked positive, but I couldn’t be sure. So I took a second. It, too, looked positive, but the lines were really faint. So I called the doctor in a hurry and asked to come in for a blood test. I went in on Monday five minutes before the office closed, and she told me to call Tuesday (today) for the results. So I called this morning. System down. I called at 10am. System still down. I called at 11am. System still down. (COME ON, PEOPLE!) I called at 12pm. System still down. I called at 2pm (spacing it out so she doesn’t get frustrated with me). System still down. I called at 4pm. System still down. The office closes at 4:30pm. I called at 4:25pm and was put on hold for almost FIVE minutes (an eternity, I’m tellin’ ya!) and then the receptionist said the doctor would talk to me. He came on the line and said, “The test was positive in our system. Congratulations. I’ll put in your initial consult at OB and they’ll call you before the week is over. Take care.” I spoke a litte in there, and thanked him for his congratulations, but all in all it was short, sweet and to the point. OH MY GOODNESS, I’M PREGNANT! So I pretended to be normal for about five minutes while I left my office (I had gone in another room to make the call) and then I rushed (30km per hour doesn’t really constitute rushing) home to call Jim at 2:45am Oklahoma time to wake him up and tell him he’s going to be a daddy! He was so happy and told me that I was going to be a mommy, which sounded so good. I’m praying for a wonderful pregnancy. It is so hard to comprehend that I am growing a child in my stomach. Oh my! God is so good.

I sent Jim the picture below in an e-mail to read when he’s more awake. This is how I had intended to tell him, had he been here, by giving him this onesie with the word Geekling on it. My wonderful husband is a geek, and I hope our child is just like him!

Geekling[1]

I’ll have an appointment at OB soon, probably around the end of April, and hope to have a due date for you then. I think it’s around the end of November. We’ll see. Oh, I’m so happy and scared to death all at the same time!

 

One Response to “24 March 2009”

  1. michelle Says:

    yeah for the onesie surprise!


Leave a Reply

